Who cares?

This evening Oxford took part in the national week of action against the Nationality and Borders Bill. The government is presenting this bill as its way of mending the broken asylum system (its words, and correct, though I suspect we have different interpretations of 'broken') but this camouflages the reality of what will happen to people fleeing persecution. 

I started to write about the huge disparity between what is on the government website and what organisations working with refugees know will happen but I am too dispirited. Of all the things in it that make me weep, I tried to pick out the worst but I couldn't. 

Try this: people who arrive in the UK through unofficial routes, such as in the back of a lorry, with false papers or in a boat, would be considered ‘inadmissible’ and be turned away because of how they got here. Those who arrive on a plane with a UK visa would have their claims considered.

Imagine being in Kabul, threatened by the Taliban because you teach girls, and asking the British Embassy for a visa to get to the UK to have your asylum claim heard. Ah, the British Embassy in Kabul is closed. Oops.

OK, imagine going to the British Embassy in Asmara because you are rumoured to have criticised Eritrea's 25-year totalitarian government thus condemning yourself to indefinite detention. What are the chances of the British Embassy granting you a visa? What are the chances of you affording a ticket to Heathrow or even being allowed into the airport to board a plane?

The Bill introduces a four-year prison sentence for people travelling to the UK 'irregularly' to claim asylum. It also introduces criminalisation of people who help those seeking asylum. This would include those saving lives at sea. That's the RNLI, among others.

There's more, just as inhumane,  but I can't bear it. If you want to know more see here

There were only about 30 of us at this evening's protest. With a smile I offered leaflets to passers-by and said I was prepared to have a chat whether they agreed with me or not. Some took the leaflet. Many refused, with the thought-provoking response, 'I'm good.' Unpack that. 

One person refused because, 'I'm not from here'. 

'We're all from Earth', I said to his disappearing back.


In extras is an attempt by my colleagues to gather for a group photo. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.