History

I rarely have any reason to go to the City of London and I have very mixed feelings about it. There is ancient, medieval and more recent history buried under all the excesses of the last fifty years and I like having that history under my feet. I hate most of the high-rise financial buildings that have trampled over the history and created a decadent skyline. But I love some of the detail of those buildings and some of the juxtapositions. The half-hour gap I built into my diary between what I had to do here today and leaving to meet some friends happened to be rainy but I really enjoyed my time looking. (Extra and another here)

The gathering of friends was a bit of history too - forty years ago this month I started a course at the Institute of Education. Some of us formed a revision group before our exams (highly recommended for both memory and the anguish of getting through exams) and we have met up about three times a year ever since. Today we were joined by one of our tutors who I hadn't seen for 38 years. We all still look exactly the same as we did back then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.