back to the future

Croydon...its where I went to High school and spent my formative years. So many memories. My Dad worked in an office on the 20th floor of a new building next to the Whitgift Shopping Centre. It felt like a new and exciting place. My school, however, was just the opposite, housed in the old Palace of the archbishops of Canterbury. https://www.oldpalace.croydon.sch.uk/about/history-of-old-palace/

I loved it and have never lost that sense of history.

Croydon has moved on, however, and every time I pass through, it has changed. From the station today, I watched the progress of this building - only a small part of the redevelopment which includes the second highest building in Britain: https://www.croydonadvertiser.co.uk/news/croydon-news/11-huge-tower-blocks-could-1573711

I'm at King's Cross now waiting for Sarah. Its been an interesting journey here..all the trains from Uckfield were cancelled due to a landslip after last night's heavy rain. I left my parents still in their PJ'S and ran for the bus to Lewes from where I caught a train. Hopefully the rest of the journey home will be more straightforward :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.