Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Of mice and men…..

The last time we saw veteran singer Al Stewart was in Birmingham.  W had damaged her knee and was walking on crutches so I booked rail tickets and a hotel right next to the station.  I couldn’t get parked so ended up having to drive, wasting the money spent on the train, and could only get parked in Birmingham at the other side of town so W had to hobble across town to the hotel.  To cap it all, I got a £60 fine in the post a few days later for driving down a bus lane.

Tonight we are seeing veteran singer Al Stewart in Northampton.  Or at least, we are supposed to be.  We booked a non-refundable hotel next to the theatre and also another night in a hotel where we used to live so we could have dinner with old friends of ours.  Within a few days of booking the tickets Al Stewart cancelled the tour due to Covid worries, with our tickets being valid for a revised concert in a years time.  However, we still decided to come so that we could catch up with our old friends but on the way over, we had a text from them to say they had received some very bad family news so had to drive up north and won’t be able to meet up.

Oddly enough, I had tried to arrange a lunch tomorrow with a couple of old work colleagues while I was here but they both had to decline as they were both on holiday.  Guess where?  North Norfolk, only a few miles from where I now live.  I might be able to catch up with them next week.  In the meantime, W is meeting up with a friend of hers tomorrow.  At least, that’s the plan for the time being.

We stopped off at a garden centre on the way here and I thought I would dedicate this blip to J4net who is rather fond of Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.