Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Milton Keynes

I spent several years of my life sitting in that building looking at the one I’m in now.  Tonight the view is reversed.

After checking out of the Northampton hotel this morning we went for a look at 78 Derngate, the only house in England designed by the Scottish architect, Charles Rennie Mackintosh.  It was owned by the toymaker Joseph Bassett-Lowke and if you like Art Deco style and Rennie Mackintosh’s work in particular, it is well worth a look.  I’ve added an extra of the front room in the house which apparently Mrs Bassett-Lowke didn’t like, but it was difficult to get a decent shot on my phone.  The website I’ve added a link to has some much better shots.

W has been meeting a friend of hers this afternoon and I’ve been lazy back at the hotel.  Out for a meal tonight then home again tomorrow after an enjoyable little break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.