Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Ah, Robin …

Today’s been long! Even though I tried to prepare for my visitors beforehand, the sunrise this morning found me heading out in the 5c chill to do the weekly shopping. I was discussing with the check-out lady how she too had felt her house shrink to a matchbox when her family came to stay last week, and when I got home it was as if the larder - and even more the fridge - belonged in a doll’s house.


Many hours later we managed to get all six of out into the sunshine that was by now peppered with showers, to Benmore Gardens to see the last of the autumn colours. At Anna’s insistence we visited the Victorian Fernery, and that’s where we met this gorgeous robin, who sat on a rail and eyed us thoroughly before departing to the roof. We had a leisurely wander through the still-vibrant landscape and totally missed lunch, settling instead for ciabatta and cheese in mid-afternoon.

Somehow I found myself cooking again, pairing baked salmon with a freekeh pilau- what a good combination that was - and disposing of another bottle of wine. The dishes! The glasses! The mugs!

The scullion is just away to make me some tea …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.