Anything Goes

I managed to get a single seat up in the gallery at the Barbican to see Anything Goes. Very well reviewed and it was indeed a wonderful show. Great dancing and music (Cole Porter) with brilliant sets. Definitely a 5* performance. 

I nt row in front of me was a couple who were getting on like a house on fire - chatting loudly and clearly enjoying the show. Drinks and popping out (What for, eh?) and then loudly coming back. In fairness they were at the end of the row.

At half time I had a wander round to get my Blip.

As we all resumed our seats theirs remained empty. Everyone around me breathed a loud Phew. Then, just as the lights were dimming they appeared. This time with a tray loaded with two glasses of wine, two gin and tonics and two aperol spritz plus several bags of crisps. They proceeded to consume that lot through the second half. Curiously they were quieter, perhaps the alcohol was taking its effect.

And entertaining sideshow to a terrific evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.