SonofLionel

By SonofLionel

Niort

I had to go to the Préfecture de Niort today for my French nationality interview. The interview is one of the final stages of becoming a French citizen. They want to see us in person and check our links to France, as well as our knowledge of France and the French language. (so far the contact has been via huge folders of documentation, sent and resent to ensure that it was all in order). I have decided to gain citizenship because there has been a distinct change in our status here ever since the UK left the EU. We have lost certain rights (i.e. voting) as a result, so I wanted to correct the change. I will retain my UK citizenship irrespective of any decision, but this makes living here more straight forward.
This picture was taken of the château next door to the Préfecture. Niort is a pretty place in the centre (as are most older French towns); the outskirts are more industrial. I have been told that, over a year since my initial application, the decision will be made “sometime in the next year, or so”. 
Plus ça change, plus ça reste le même.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.