Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Little Amal [Hope]

has walked from the Syrian/Turkish border through Turkey, Greece, Italy, Rich Europe and now through Britain in search of her mother. She is nine years old and tomorrow, Saturday 23rd October, she will turn ten years old and have a birthday party in That London. Today she visited Deptford High Street
Exactly 36 years ago today [Tuesday 22nd October 1985] I moved into my forever home in Deptford High Street.
I couldn't possibly not be there to welcome Amal into my very own street. She has, after all, already planted a tree in the place that was a Greek forest before it became a Greek forest fire. My previous home.
So I went with my mum to meet Amal and to give her a little toy puppy for her tenth birthday
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2510556207664596385
The text on the ribbon aound her neck says;
"This toy puppy is named Faith. I bought her for a baby girl I believed in. In fact she did not exist. Please bring her home to a place where Faith does exist. Thank you and Happy 10th birthday!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.