Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Safeguarding

Although my mum has always had her feet placed firmly on the ground, her brother was raised to be a precious little thing as a direct result of 1930s gender entitlement. Today, my mum is still fully aware and capable, entertains friends in her home, does some freelance work, gets out and about and engages fully with the real world. She's over 90.
Mum's brother on the other hand, always had little people managing all the background stuff invisibly and he's never needed to know how it all works. So he's not likely to start learning that stuff now.
The result is that my uncle has become extremely vulnerable, and a target for ne'er do wells.
Today I joined my sister at our uncle's house doing what we could to help out. We both pretended to take 'family photos' whilst actually collecting as much facial recognition data as we could in case that becomes necessary. And that explains the odd crop of this portrait of my sister.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.