Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Arachnid in the extra

I took the extra this morning, and wondered what to do about a thumbnail that some might be unhappy about, but as usual, Lady Luck smiled kindly upon me and gave me an opportunity for another image that may not otherwise have had any relevance.

I was supposed to have my flu jab just before six this evening, so I shut down my work promptly and made myself ready to cycle home in light rain. But oh! My bike had a flat tyre which my pump just wouldn't touch, so there was nothing for it but to walk the bike all the way home. I had the wit to call the GP surgery to re-schedule the appointment, but that still meant walking 4 miles in the rain.

I'm scheduled to spend Saturday in London, with no chance to visit the bike shop while it is open, so I wondered if I might just catch it before it closed on my way home. I guestimated what I thought would be a short-cut, but got that wrong, and checking now I see that I added an unnecessary 0.8 miles (17 minutes) to my journey. But hurrah! I arrived on the dot of 6pm and the sign on the door hadn't been flipped. Yes they will deal with my flat tyre tomorrow.

But then how to collect the fixed bike given that the shop is closed on Sundays? I have a couple of friends I could ask, but they live a way out and they can't bring my bike to my flat and leave it there without huge personal inconvenience. I decided to make a big ask.
My landlord is normally about on a Saturday, and if he is willing he can also bring the bike home and lock it in the back garden, so I asked, and he said yes!

I owe him a bottle of something nicer than this one.
Never forget – quirky branding is often hiding a low achieving wine.

The extra is centre-forward in my team of resident insect deterrents.
I'm infested with fruit-flies and I'm going to have to rethink my bin-system

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.