The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Wichelstowe (Friday 22nd October 2021)

In 2014 a new Waitrose was opened on the banks of the disused Wilts and Berks Canal on the outskirts of Swindon at Wichelstowe, and later a bar/restaurant called Hall and Woodhouse opened on the opposite side, amidst a building site of future developments. I had visited it several times since then; the last time was in January 2020.

The first thing I noticed as I crossed this footbridge was that new buildings had now appeared in every direction, seemingly as far as the eye could see. I explored along the towpaths in both directions as well as inspecting Hall and Woodhouse before going into Waitrose with another £6 voucher. This time, however, I couldn't find what I wanted and left with voucher intact.

On my way home I detoured to another watered stretch of the Wilts and Berks Canal, and parked at Chaddington Lane road bridge, where I quickly found the resident swan pair and got some shots (one in Extras). This is the other end of the stretch that I sometimes visit from Templars Firs. A bird watcher came to show me the site that a local kingfisher visits each day and recounted tales of all the great wildlife he and his partner had seen at this spot, including stoats and weasels.

L.
Saturday 23.10.2021 (1620 hr)

Blip #3537 (#3287 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2021 #192/265 + #088/100 Extras
Day #4228 (946 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2680 (#2520 + 160 in archived blips)

Swindon series
Canals series
Wilts and Berks Canal series
Landscape series
Bridges series

Wilts and Berks In Swindon Area, 22 October 2021 (Flickr album of 36 photos)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Bathers ft Elizabeth Fraser - The Night Is Young (2011)

One year ago:
Abstract Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.