Every day, every day, every day

Tonight, Si and I were being "cultured". 

We attended the recording of the "Big Scottish Book Show". 

I had never ever heard of it before.  I try not to Watch BBC Scotland, because the necessity to employ Scottish people with the most horrific Scottish Accents grinds on me.  (I'm Scottish I can say that). 

Someone local posted a link on Instagram saying that BBC was looking for audience members  - I clicked the link and applied and within 30 minutes someone from BBC called and asked for specifics.

We completely had forgotten about it, and remembered late on Wendesday evening... We didn't prepare much, Vaccination Certificates, Tickets printed out, and hair brushed. 

We headed down, got our temperature taken, and got into the queue for a seat.  It was in our local town hall, and as you can see, the stage was set like a comfy reading room.  

Despite "social distancing" being in place, we were sat next to a single chap - we ensured that he was at one side of the table and himself and I at the other. 

There was a bar ... yay... and people running around being "important".   Headsets, radios, and facemasks.     There were a group  of eight people all dressed up to the nines (we were in our usual underdressed state) sitting in the middle, it turned out they were the "local" book club.  

As a born Troonie, I didn't recognise any of them at all.  Probably actors ha ha ha ha

And then the three of us (we deigned to be friendly to our socially distanced table mate), decided that the authors would be sat at the front.  There was a book on each table.  

The authors were Monisha Rajesh, Cal Flynn, and Alan Warner, and a poet called Michael Pedersen. 

And nope, I hadn't heard of any of them. 

The positioning of the seats meant that I couldn't really see the people - I could see the stage, and Listening was quite difficult.  Monisha travels.  Her travels on trains almost equal Boy's and Jess, but not quite.  She has stuck to India, and a round the world trip in Seven months.  Boy will tell you that 7 months is not sufficient time to see everything. 

Cal, visits derelict places which are full of danger... Chernoble, Canvey Wick and Bings.   Yes, Bings.    Alan, has written a book about Rock Star's Roadie who is also a bit of a stalker/ groupie.   Sounded quite like a book by Ian Bank's I read. 

The poet was a riot.  He read a poem called "oyster".  Poets all have a look and a means of reading their work yeah? 

At the end of the recording, he stood up and said "can I do it again please?   I missed the end of the poem".   I don't know if it was because We all clapped at a dramatic pause.... but it actually appealed to me more with the shortened end. 

Anyways, that was what we did.  And it was a bit interesting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.