Hopeless Maine

I spent much of the day emptying and removing the aquarium in the dining room; transferring the handful of tropical fish to a temporary home. Miss wished to remove something behind the chest it sat on, and eventually her dutiful assistant managed his task. It did give me a choice, yet to be made, of restoring or disposing of the aquarium.

In the afternoon I took Morrigan out for a pre-winter spin and ended up at the Lansdown gallery in Stroud, where my friends Tom and Nimue Brown were almost at the end of a week exhibiting their work. Tom is an inveterate "dirtier of paper", otherwise known as a very fine artist, and Nimue is a cunning wordsmith and Druid. They fell in love with each others work across the Atlantic Ocean, and then with each other.

The pictures I took of the two of them didn't really take into account that the light in the gallery was directed onto the artworks. I think this one of Tom is worth a glance, and you can see some of the art on the walls - not, sadly, the one I am in. They transport many of their friends and acquaintances to Hopeless Maine by way of a sharpened pencil and a pastel brush. I am honoured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.