Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Family meeting with the Calleaich

This is a moment snatched from what promised to be a grim day, weather-wise. The family all went out for coffee and cake this morning, leaving us collapsed over our own strong coffee chez nous.

However, by afternoon I needed fresh air, Catriona needed exercise, and her dad was visiting a school friend and offered to meet up … which we did, at the Creag na Cailleaich on Loch Striven. It was a great deal less soggy underfoot than on my other visit, but I have to admit that the fence-climbing was even harder - a combination of a jaggy wee tree beside the fence and the stiffening of my knees …

However, I made it. It was already growing evening-gloomy, and very atmospheric. Beyond, the Loch was whipping greyly in the brisk wind that had swept the waves onto the road we’d driven down. But the hollow round the standing stone was sheltered and silent as we took our photos, left our offering, and left.

Normal service in narrative and comment will be resumed as soon as I don’t have to do this on my phone …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.