Winter Garden

Here is Mr S, working on adding some emitters to the drip line. We just planted a couple of sorrel plants (makes a great soup with potatoes and leeks); happy to get them in before the big rain hits tomorrow. The rest of the garden is slowing down. Garlic goes in next, in that raised bed in the background. It's interesting to me that we have become gardeners. Although my aunts and grandparents had a vegetable garden, my parents had a lawn and landscaping. I don't remember anyone in our immediate neighborhood having a garden. Mr S grew up in the city; he didn't even eat vegetables, much less grow them. But here we are, down on our knees in the mud, digging and fussing and delighting in the stuff we raise. This is what I would miss if we ever had to move.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.