Moody morning

Today I re-entered tramping with my club. Nothing too ambitious, just a 5 hour jaunt on the Lyttelton Circuit, on the Port Hills. Not far to travel and plenty of outs if I needed to (I didn't). A nice wee taster and confidence booster.

It didn't feel arduous and I think it's just a matter of building my stamina with time on my feet. No issues with steepness or negotiating rocky bits.

960m elevation gain and slightly less loss. My feet feel a bit tender tonight and my knees know that they've done some work. But my right hip and lower back feel good.

A good outcome of my concussion is that I've worked hard on strengthening both hips and my lower back. Provided I don't feel unduly fatigued tomorrow, I'm well and truly back and ready to return to my beloved high country.

Lyttelton Harbour looked cold and moody from Mt Pleasant this morning. By lunchtime we were in sun. The port, harbour, peninsula and Pacific Ocean beyond, looked magnificent this afternoon. (See the extra).

Today's gratitude: For the absolute change between a year ago, when I struggled to string a sentence together and balance when I walked, and today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.