Odd job Monday

Labour day turned out to be a cracker - warm, sunny, and little wind. It's a pity I didn't get as far as cleaning the bbq or I could have cranked it up.

My odd jobs included cleaning the car (which means it will rain tomorrow, regardless of the forecast), taking apart the carpet nozzle thing and meticulously cleaning it, adding lime and brown matter to the compost, and tidying the aromatics bed out from the dining room.

Perhaps the biggest achievement was installing iron hoops in the main vege garden and securing 2 layers of bird netting over it.

It's a cheap experiment to see if it successfully keeps white butterflies away. I still need bee access and after seeing lots of bumbles on the chive flowers I'm feeling hopeful.

A couple of bush tomatoes, a pepper (yes, I'm trying again), parsley, and broccoli, are the new residents. I still have broccoli and various stirfry veges in production.

One end of the plot is free of netting so I can grow another vertical courgette. It was so successful last year I won't go back to sprawling courgettes that hog space and are prone to mildew.

Love, love, love 3 day weekends.

The empty space around the driftwood is because several carex commans died. Grasses can be like that. I've added new seedlings around the base and a new plan that includes the pot.

Today's gratitude: For fresh asparagus. It's a spring gem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.