Pottery connections

In the foreground is a piece of Barry Brickell pottery. He was a friend of Mum and Dad's and often gifted them pieces like this one.

I'd like it raised on something. But either a cat or an earthquake will send it flying. Ground level is safer.

It reminds me of Mum and Dad, and visits to Barry's place in the Coromandel. Dad would check that he had clothes on before we got out of the car.

In the background is heavy 1m high pottery pot. It has no such pedigree and was an absolute bargain from Mitre10. It had some patches of white stuff on the outside so the price was drastically reduced. I brushed most of it off and the rain took care of the rest.

Other than the bargain aspect, I'm reminded of the look on the guys face at Mitre10 when I said no the freight option, we'll put it in the back of my Honda Jazz. We did.

It also reminds me of my good friend who helped me get it out of the car and inside the front door while I sorted out where it would live.

Filled with potting mix and a layer of schist stones on top, it's immovable. I don't like it's chances in a big quake.

Today's gratitude: For completing several jobs at work today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.