We Demand!

I attended a lecture by the author, Anne B. Gass, on her new book on the suffrage road trip of 1915 that went from San Francisco, Calif. to Washington, DC to present a petition signed by over 500,000 people supporting votes for women.  At first, no one wanted to make the arduous drive cross country but then two Swedish immigrants, Ingeborg Kindstedt and Maria Kindberg volunteered.  I love historical fiction and this well researched novel written by a Maine woman whose great grandmother was part of the suffrage movement will be a fascinating read. She made the trip herself in 2015.  She was signing copies and when she asked me if I wanted to inscribe it to anyone I didn't hesitate, I gave her my grandmother's name who first voted at age 30 in 1920.  Not everyone was in favor of votes for women and I added an extra which I found very amusing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.