Unexpected

Walked to town and back. Called in at the brewery to see how busy it was. It was closed for a private function and crowdfunders were able to attend. After we’d checked in (as it wasn’t too crowded) we got festival bands to wear on our wrists. Something I didn’t expect to have in 2021.

Downstairs was a bit busy with a younger crowd and a hen night. The DJ was playing some very trendy tunes and they were serving the usual pizza. We have that area a bit of a miss.

On the first floor the DJ was playing reggae and it felt much more chilled, with an older crowd and only 1 or 2 people on the dance floor. On the outside balcony someone was making burgers which smelled lovely.

On the 2nd floor it was pretty quiet with lots of empty chairs and sofas. They’d put an exhibition on of crowdfunding comments. MrH is looking at it here. I didn’t spend too long there because of the overhead lights (they were not headache inducing as such but I didn’t want to take any chances). Sat up here away from the lights to eat some cornbread and chilli brisket stew, served from a little hut outside on the ground floor.

Sat outside on the veranda and I caught the eye of an older woman who smiled at me like she recognised me. She came over and said, “Hi you probably don’t remember me but. . . “ once she spoke and I heard her voice I knew who she was. She was a Lovely speech and language therapist I worked with well over a decade ago. She is now an artist. By some chance we all ended up then talking to Greg who owns the brewery and he took us for a tour of the vats and the canning machine which was really interesting! At the old brewery location you could sit amongst the vats but now the set up is quite different so you can only see the brewing area through some very small windows. It felt like a huge storage space which must be a bit similar to be being behind the scenes at somewhere like IKEA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.