Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Goosed

We decided last year that we didn’t know enough about birds.  We’re OK with the regular garden birds and more common wild ones but we’re pretty much in the ‘if it’s white, it’s a seagull’ category when it comes to anything else.  We decided to enrol on a beginner’s walk at the Cley Marshes reserve but it had to be cancelled due to Covid restrictions.  This morning we went on the rearranged walk which we thoroughly enjoyed.  A very informative lady leading the walk pointed out lots of things we would never have seen ourselves; a Stonechat (who knew they were so colourful?), Shovellers, Godwits, Divers and many more.  We won’t remember them all, of course, but there was lots to interest us and it will inspire us to look harder and find out more.  And to buy a new pair of binoculars.

I took a few photos but even with my long lens a lot of the birds were too far away to get a decent shot.  I liked these geese flying over and couldn’t decide between this shot or another for my blip, so I’ve added the other as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.