I Dreamed an Autumn Rainbow

It was Saturday morning, and my husband and I set out early to get game-day hoagies from the Boy Scouts. We did just that. Then he dropped me off on Mahala Street and I walked back, several miles, through the Scotia Barrens.

It is a pathway I have grown quite familiar with. It was drizzling some, and then actually outright raining, but I didn't care, for I had my pink umbrella and my pink tunes box. I was jammin'! I was completely happy, doing the simple things I love.

The walk takes more than an hour, usually an hour and fifteen. But I was lolly-gagging because the foliage colors are getting pretty good in our local woods, so it took longer. And when I got to my favorite small vernal pool, right by the parking lot where I walk out of the gameland, and then head for home, I saw the colors and the raindrops on the water, and I was smitten.

I stood by the little pond and I snapped abstract photos of what I saw on the water's surface, which was a combination of reflections of foliage, concentric circles from the gentle raindrops, and colorful leaves floating atop the water.

I felt like an Impressionist painter, picking my colors and shapes and patterns from a glorious and ever-changing autumn palette. I bumped up the color saturation a bit, just for fun.

I felt so artsy and painterly from my efforts that I picked 13 of the resulting images and gave them all names, and put them up on Instagram. If you are on Instagram, you are welcome to find me there (I'm grrrlwithacamera there) and see a few more of my Autumn Dreamer shots!

Now, it is my custom to include a soundtrack song with my Blip photo. But I need more than one on this day. Let me give you the song I originally picked for these images, which is Gordon Lightfoot, with Early Morning Rain. And next is another song I thought would be lovely with this, courtesy of the Autumn Dreamer (who is me, I guess): REO Speedwagon, with In My Dreams.

And finally, here is the song that was actually playing on my pink tunes box as I was taking/making these photos: Bonnie Raitt and Randy Newman, with Feels Like Home. (Which is funny and actually perfect, as I WAS indeed . . . almost home.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.