JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Balgonie Castle

A day of sunshine and showers with quite a late start. I still seem to have plenty of washing to do but today has seen the end of it thank goodness.  Lots of planning done for the coming week.  There's no shortage of things to do.  Julie's cutting my hair on Tuesday and it really needs it but otherwise my time is my own.  Bliss.  Went off in the afternoon sunshine intending to go down to the Forth estuary.  Instead I wandered through Markinch, the ancient capital of Fife and on to the villages of Coaltown and Milton of Balgonie.  I'd almost forgotten the castle. It's been much filmed and was the inspiration for the red wedding scene in Game of Thrones and was used in Outlander. It dates from the14th century with piecemeal additions over time and has some lovely trees in the grounds.  Fife isn't short of castles and ruins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.