Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

London Winds

I used to attend the concerts organised by Norwich Chamber Music quite regularly - in fact, before I met W I actually had a season ticket for their concerts for a couple of years.  And with W, I've attended a few concerts.

When an advert for their current concert series caught my eye, I followed it up, and found that there was a concert coming up today by London Winds.  So I booked a couple of seats.

In the event, W is still coughing badly, so he opted out of attending, and I went on my own.

It was an enjoyable concert - made completely stress free by the fact that they were encouraging mask wearing.  There were a few "masks below nose" culprits, and one or two people with no mask at all - but 95% of the audience were complying.

All the pieces they played were new to me, and interesting.  The last work they played was an octet by Carl Reinecke, and the last movement was quite a workout for the flautist.  I found a copy of the flute part on IMSLP, and have put a photo of the beginning of the final movement as an extra - it was taken at breakneck speed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.