It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Birding in Musselburgh

Rosemary went out really early this morning, before 7am. I was slightly more leisurely, up at 8:30 and out for 10am. I ran via where the running group meets up, but no one was there....perhaps due to quite a few races being on, and then down to Seafield, along the beach to Porty & home again. A good 14km done.

After lunch, I headed down to Musselburgh to do some bird watching. It was a very successful trip. There was a group looking intently out to sea, and a lovely old bloke allowed me to look through his scope to see a surf scoter far in the distance. It would have been another £3K to get a camera lens good enough to photograph it through. There were lots to see, this swan obviously...not the rarest but fun to watch anyway, elusive black throated divers who refused to stay above the water, a wee group of twite's , guillemots and a few other bits n bobs. 

I headed over to the scrape, but some of the paths were fenced off, without signs to say 'the way was closed'. It was getting dark so I decided to miss them for the day and head home.

It was a proper Sunday dinner, with pastie things from the market, cabbage, tatties and carrots. We had cake before I actually started cooking though. I was most certainly starving and wouldn't have hoped waiting 40 mins to eat in the correct order. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.