Marionb

By Marionb

History in the Park..

A block away from me is the Lynde House Museum, the oldest house in Durham Region built in 1811 and moved to that site in 2013. The site also includes the Warren General Store gift shop, and both are operated by the Whitby Historical Society. Believe it or not, I have never been in either....and they are just down the street!  And ..I have never taken part in any events they organize...until today. 

Today was a beautiful sunny Sunday; I had time on my hands and was looking for something different to do - something that would not involve garden clean-up. And voila! The Whitby Historical Society was hosting an outdoor exhibit in the park where those buildings sit. 

The thing that interested me enough to walk a block, was a collection of dresses that would be included in the displays. The three in the photo are from a collection that was purchased at an auction in Italy by a friend of a friend who  collects and also sews replica historical costumes. My favourite is that little black number with all the lacework and beads..all done by hand... 

I also discovered that the Warren General Store will be my first stop for Christmas shopping! It is not open on Sundays but today a very nice volunteer opened it for my friend Elaine and I to take a quick peek at what they have on offer..and right away, I knew I would be back to shop for some of those beautiful hand-crafted items...

So I had a lovely little outing in my own neighbourhood...got a blip and met some very friendly volunteers all in period costume who convinced me that yes, I should go online and book myself a tour! 

 




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.