BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Clouds and Blue Sky

As a pilot I have become somewhat fascinated by clouds, especially when they behave unusually.  Whilst we had clear blue sky this evening where we were situated, the bank of cumulus and connected cirrus clouds indicated that there some very different movements happening in the atmosphere only a few miles away.  It struck me that our human circumstances are often quite different depending on where we are in the world, and it made me pause for thought on those experiencing quite different realities in their lives at this time.  It also made me grateful for the life we have been gifted but cognisant of those who are worse off for one reason or another.  Funnily enough, I had a similar emotion during what for some I suspect is a trivial example, but the football team I have supported since the age of 5, Liverpool played at their arch-rivals Manchester United and won in nothing short of a rout.  The scoreline of 5 to 0 was the best result we have had against them at their ground for 96 years.  As a kid I actually attended the same fixture with my parents and the rivalry has been so profound that there is normallly no love lost between either team's supporters.  Of course I was delighte with the result, but as I said to my sister (a season ticket holder at Manchester Utd), I actually felt a measure of sadness for the fans and the poor manager, who. though he seems like a decent chap, will probably lose his job because of this match.  How fortunes of others must feel so different.  Anyway, I am not sure why I felt so philosophical about all this, I was just very aware of the fact that others may feel differently than I do at this time.  My blue sky may be someone else's storm clouds and my team's delight and euphoria may well be someone else's sorrow.  

Otherwise, a relaxing day watching the game, the US Grand Prix and hanging out with Daniel and Leyna in the afternoon, a brief visit to pay our respects and give a card and bottle of wine to the couple who took over the church we started when we left to pursue BG 15 years ago and a nice dusk walk around the local pond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.