Pictastic

By Pictastic

Museo Atlantico

This pic was actually taken by Chris the dive master who had the camera to photograph the group on this afternoon’s dive at the Museo Atlántico. However I wanted to give you a flavour of what the museum is all about and a photo is likely the best way.

It’s a pretty cool idea - a series of underwater sculptures by Jason deCaires arranged in a sort of pathway. Europe’s only underwater museum no less!

I have to confess I was much too intent to fending off rising panic to pose for a photo at this point though. The morning’s refresher dive had gone well - a beach dive with some interesting sights including damselfish, cuttlefish and arrow crabs. Once I see the wildlife I start to relax and enjoy looking around but when there’s no fish, I start thinking too much. And that’s what happened on this afternoon’s dive, there were hardly any fish, just the sculptures which are pretty creepy, down there with low light. Plus the conditions were more challenging - it was in deeper water, from a boat, and the visibility wasn’t great. I began to feel a bit panicky at about the third sculpture and couldn’t seem to calm my breathing down. I told my buddy (a pro diver) I was cutting it short. No shame in it, I’m glad I tried and I know what works for me and what doesn’t.

My daughter came on the morning’s excursion but not the afternoon’s (photo of us in Extras) and I’m glad as I think it would have been too much for such a novice diver. The dive master back at the hotel said people often have extreme reactions to the place and it can freak out even very experienced divers. Some of the sculptures include a refugee boat and an orgy!

One to chalk up to experience. I think I’ll stick to hobbies like photography from now on…and just visit the aquarium from time to time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.