Marina at Bald Eagle State Park

My husband and I went out for an afternoon foliage drive, which took us from Skytop along route 220 past the gliderport in Julian (featured in that famous glider scene in the 1999 remake of the film The Thomas Crown Affair) that's for sale now. The golds and oranges on the ridge above 220 are getting very nice, and it's a drive I recommend.

At Bald Eagle State Park, the foliage is variable. The colors just inside the gate on the approach to the Hunter Run East Launch are fabulous. At the actual launch itself, they are muted. The trees that usually turn red in mid-October along the main beach area are still green. And along the lake, there are some nice colors by the water, but it's still mostly green above that.

We parked near the main beach area and walked around, looking for colorful trees. This is a shot of the Marina itself, with some foliage colors and reflections, and with boats docked there. I don't know what it is, but there is just something nice about standing around looking at pretty boats.

Another detail: most of the restrooms at the park are closed for the season, as well, which is important to know if you visit. There are just two that are open, and one of them is at Hunter Run East Launch. Sorry, but I forget the other one; I should have taken a photo of the sign.

My soundtrack song is this fun little one: Lyle Lovett, with If I Had a Boat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.