Joan

Thinking of a subject for Tiny Tuesday while writing my journal (for that read 'catching up on several days' worth') I was toying with the pen when the inscription caught my eye.

There are no hallmarks nor indication of silver plating, but the pen belonged to my Aunt Joan. When her room was cleared after her death, among the items was a Tupperware box of bits and bobs, which included the pen, whose clip had been bent out of line. I hadn't seen it but neither of my brothers wanted it, so, like many objects that were close to her heart, I took it on. (I refer to gifts she gave to my parents or myself over the years, she asked what had become of them when the family home was cleared, I was able to reassure her that they were in my safe keeping)

A pair of pliers soon straightened the clip, a new refill was added and it was good as new so has become my go-to pen for journal or letter writing. It lives in the house rather than my handbag since the time I inadvertently left it in church after a meeting, where it was safely put aside before both caretaker and I realised and it was some weeks later that we were re-united.

Until the photo appeared on the monitor I had no idea how shaky the inscription is, the wee shoogles alone fit the Tiny Tuesday brief, thanks to KangaZu for hosting.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.