Kensington Gore

I have spent the bulk of the day fighting a batch of elderberry and rosehip jelly which, despite positive pectin test, has refused to set. Suffice to say that I lost the battle but potted it up anyway - too thick for bottles, too thin for jelly.

At some time in the future I can take small batches and see what can be done, but if I boil it any more there will be precious little vitamin C left. I do have a large supply of gelatin... .

And the title? Both the pectin test and these scrapings bear a remarkable resemblance to theatrical blood clots - though I do like the image left by the bubbles.

Mr Flum has spent much of the afternoon sleeping off the effects of his double vaccine yesterday, after my Covid booster I just feel tired so off for an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.