I'll Huff, And I'll Puff

On This Day In History
1904: New York City subway opens

Quote Of The Day
"For the first time in his life, Father Knickerbocker went underground yesterday; went underground, he and his children, to the number of 150,000, amid the tooting of whistles and the firing of salutes, for a first ride in a subway which for years had been scoffed at as an impossibility."
(New York Times, October 28, 1904)

"My name is  Degoichi. I was born in Kawasaki in March, Showa 11 (1936.) I worked as a freight train for thirty-six years until Showa 47 (1972.) While I was working I made the equivalent of three return journeys from the Earth to the Moon, a distance of 2, 404, 191 kilometres. 

"My total weight is 68.5 tonnes. My  water tank weighs 38.2 tonnes. I am 19.5 metres long, 3.98 metres high and 2.8 metres wide."

D-51 in action

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.