Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Dartmeet

I awoke early this morning and looked out to see a gloomy morning so got back into bed. A few moments later I was out again remembering that this might be an ideal opportunity to visit Dartmeet, which can get very busy if you leave it until later in the day, especially on a bank holiday weekend.

The main attraction for me is this ancient clapper bridge which originally had five granite slabs to make the crossing. Only two survive now. You'll be pleased to know that a new bridge was built in 1892 to make your crossing easier.

The boulder strewn river bed gives lots of movement in the water and it always looks different depending on how much rain is coming off the moor. The name 'Dartmeet' comes from the fact that the East and West Dart rivers join just below the bridge.

I was home again by 8.30 and tucking into hot cross buns for breakfast. Lovely! I hope your Friday's good!

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.