Low Newton Odyssey

I’d chosen to return home via Northumberland so that I could visit Low Newton, where we’d spent so many memorable holidays with my mum.  I thought it would be quite upsetting, but in fact it wasn’t , (the things that get to me are not entirely predictable). My walk along the beach was a bit of a battle against the wind and I only carried my phone as I was expecting a very heavy downpour, but in reality there was one short heavy shower and it began to brighten up as I returned to the car.

As it turned out travelling back home along the A1 was a nightmare of hold ups and slow moving traffic.  I know I joined it at Alnwick at 11.45am and I eventually got home at 5.30pm (having stopped for a Pizza and a loo stop just outside Leeds).  I would have expected to be home by 3.30pm.  In fact it was the worst day of travel that I experienced - maybe my naïveté as it was Friday and the last day of the school holidays (for many).  Nor did I know of all the road improvements around Newcastle that went on for miles, but there were lots more opportunities to crawl along at 10mph or indeed come to a complete halt.  Maybe I should have stayed in Seahouses for another night (and then I could have joined Iain’s Northumberland holiday - he had one place spare.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.