JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

At Heatherhall.

A much better day than yesterday.  Less rain in the morning than forecast and then sunshine and blue sky.  All the usual Saturday laundry done.  I was going to hoover using my little stick hoover but discovered a part was missing.  Goodness knows how or where.  Had a look then went out with my camera intending to search thoroughly on my return.
Went to Heatherhall Woods as planned where I found notices asking people not to litter.  New since the pandemic.  There never used to be litter and, to be fair, I didn't see any today but I had a mini adventure and it wasn't likely I would.  After photographing my main image I took a little bridle path which would take me out near a path where there usually was fungi. What I forgot was that things change and I hadn't been walking in these woods for the last two years.  After a while the path split and I followed the branch going in the direction I wanted.  A bit further out the branch petered out completely.  Did I retrace my steps ?   No.  I hate going back so on I plowtered, through bracken and blaeberries and saplings  and all sorts, up and down, looking out for fallen branches and trees.  I wasn't exactly lost but I couldn't come across a path anywhere.  Thankfully the sun was shining and sunset was a good way off so I headed for the sun knowing that would take me to the edge of the wood. There were detours where the vegetation was thick but eventually I saw a group of people in the distance and knew I was near a path.  Was I glad to see it.  Once on it I did a bit of fungi photographing anyway then went back to the car.  Trousers soaked to the knee and one shoe with trailing shoelaces.  How I didn't come a cropper I know not.  But I quite enjoyed myself.  When you're old people are always telling you to take care and, if you took their advice, you'd end up wrapped in a blanket watching daytime television.  I stopped at the Pillars for milk and eggs and arrived home to find a sack of sunflower seeds had been delivered,  Thank goodness. I'm nearly out.  Changed into dry clothes, made tea and ate yet more Selkirk Bannock.  Hoovering and the missing hoover part can wait till another day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.