Woodland riches

We had heavy rain all morning, but I knew the forecast was for a brighter afternoon. So having got some domestic bits and pieces done this morning, I went out to Wyming Brook,  a steep, wooded valley on the western edge of Sheffield.
And after much plodding about,  I was lucky enough to find an intact Fly Agaric, glowing in the leaf litter. I was led towards it by the smashed fragments of its neighbour, and initially thought I'd missed any chance of finding one intact. So this sight was a particular pleasure.
There's another shot of its glowing colours in the extras, along with an accidental macro shot of a tiny fly (on a different fungus, fortunately for the fly).

This week's UK and Cop26-related news has been particularly depressing... I can't find the energy to comment on it directly. But to reconnect with something more sustaining, I've been listening to a podcast made by Bruce Springsteen and Barack Obama: Renegades: Born in the USA.
It's on Spotify.
These are meandering, unhurried conversations between two people who are not afraid to venture into difficult and sometimes painful territory together. There's a wonderful sense of their friendship in the conversations, as well as an undimmed commitment to moving forwards, whatever the obstacles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.