It was pouring with rain this morning, as forecast, so we opted for home. We don't mind setting off for a walk in mizzle, but no way in torrential! So we got home fairly easily, although in horrible conditions at times and Fi and I were both glad that Dave was driving. We'd done both the cooking and the beer buying, which I think worked out fairly. 

Last night's sleep wasn't good as there was a lot of noise at about one o'clock, with loud voices, heavy feet and a lot of door banging. I know the Wye Valley YHA isn't very quiet, it used to be the Rectory for the adjacent church, so it was a private dwelling and therefore not particularly sound proofed. It's not the only one as there are few purpose built hostels, but there was a polite notice on the entrance door to our annexe asking the late arriving group to please keep noise to a minimum. They didn't read it.

There was a lull for half an hour and then more elephant feet, voices and doors.... then mostly quiet, but I took another hour to fall asleep. I hadn't realised until this morning that all three of us were awake and annoyed, on the verge of opening the door and telling them to shut the f*** up... but none of us did.

I'm going to try to take it easy this week as I seem to have caught another cold virus from my grandsons. It's not covid, I've done a lateral flow test earlier, but I maybe need to be gentle with myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.