Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

The Little Unsaid

It’s almost exactly 20 months since I last went to a gig (Sleater-Kinney in Manchester https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2680160551220282784 ) and the live music experience has undoubtedly been the thing I’ve missed more than anything - with the exception of family and friends, of course - over the last couple of years.

With the return of live shows, I’ve desperately wanted to support musicians, venues, sound and lighting people and everyone involved in the industry, which has been hit so hard by the obvious constraints brought about by the pandemic. But, I’ve also been very cautious about venturing back to indoor venues in close proximity to other people - particularly as this pandemic isn’t over and the winter months are already bringing the predicted rise in Covid cases, and other respiratory conditions, and the NHS remains under such pressure.

So, it was with no little trepidation that I put my toe back in the water tonight.

But I’m so glad I did. What a joyous experience it was!

My friend Mel first introduced me to the music of The Little Unsaid, and it was therefore fitting that I should meet up with her and her friend Andrea in West Kirby tonight to see the show. Thanks to Mel for her encouragement and perseverance!

What can I say about this band? Well, firstly, they’re fronted by a force of nature. John Elliott is a phenomenal musician and multi-instrumentalist, a talented lyricist and composer, a compelling performer and a beautiful human being. He’s joined in the band by three other beautiful humans and equally fabulous musicians; Mariya Brachkova (keyboards), Alison D'Souza (strings) and Tim Heymerdinger (drums).

The music is hard to pin down, as it’s genre-hopping in a thrilling way. How about ambient post-rock, with side orders of folk/roots and string-laden electronica (if that’s not an oxymoron!), with whip-smart lyrics. It engages the brain and the body in the way that all the best music does.

I was transported!

It was only the band’s second gig in 2 years and they were clearly as thrilled to be playing for an audience as we were to be watching and listening. See them if you can! If you can’t, I’ve added a few Extra shots which I hope will give you a bit of an idea…

Thanks are also due to the team at West Kirby Arts Centre who’ve gone above and beyond in ensuring that the venue is as Covid-safe as possible https://westkirbyartscentre.org.uk/covid-secure-2021

I’m still absolutely wired after this wonderful return to the communal joys of live music performance so I’ve got four musical links for you today, dear reader. These can only scratch the surface of what The Little Unsaid have to offer the discerning music lover…

Firstly, here’s ‘Get on the Other Side of that Door!’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Qi3zrZv2WY

And how about the lockdown/Grayson Perry inspired ‘Half Alive’ video? www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pyIXTE1Hvc

With a special dedication to my brother, Rocknerd, www.blipfoto.com/RockNerd here’s John Elliott from a few years back with a beautiful rendition of the mighty Richard Thompson’s classic ‘Beeswing’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=aePp93pq8Pw

And finally, a reminder that ‘Loving yourself’s an act of vengeance’ https://music.youtube.com/watch?v=K0QQqfc-Go4&list=RDAMVMK0QQqfc-Go4 which was tonight’s well-earned encore.

Thanks to John, Alison, Mariya and Tim for a very special night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.