Sheol an Iolaire

As I hadn't been in Stornoway since the Cabinet meeting there in 2014  I hadn't seen this very moving centenary installation comemmorating  those who were lost in the Iolaire tragedy  on the 1st of January 1919.

The posts pick out the exact size and shape of the vessel, but they also signify those who perished within sight of home.   The accompanying text on the sea  wall amplifies the story and the detail , particularly by listing the townships affected and the numbers who died as well as survived.

I came across it when out for a walk prior to getting the plane back to Glasgow at lunchtime.   Although the weather was terrible there and at home ,  there was some hazy sunshine in Stornoway first thing , which allowed me a good amble into the Castle grounds, then down through the harbour and along past the ferry terminal.   

I spent quite a lot of time visiting Stornoway when I worked in Uist (it was where I reported to the Education Department, though that building has gone) and it was good to see the town again.  

I have added a few more images from this morning as my extra photos, as well as one of the Clyde in what is now  COP26 city,  taken as the Loganair plane came over the Clyde.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.