LD 222 Raising a glass to Big Tam....

I was lucky enough to work extensively with Sean Connery on a variety of political projects when I was SNP Chief Executive during  the establishment of devolution.

I well remember the daunting experience of writing and then directing a Party Political Broadcast in which he starred (certainly the acme of my tv career) and  him ringing me up at home in order to  rehearse the first political speech he gave, which was at the cross party rally that re-started the  97 Referendum campaign after the pause as a result of Princess Diana's death. 

In 2000 he was awarded a knighthood (having earlier been vetoed  it was alleged  because of his SNP sympathies) and on the day he gave a lunch at the Caledonian Hotel for a group of friends, to which Cathleen and I , along with Alex and Moira Salmond,  were invited.   

There were thirty people present and at each place was a bottle of specially brewed Scottish & Newcastle ale ,  which wittily acknowledged one of his first jobs in Edinburgh.   The S&N Cavalier mascot was replaced by his picture and the dedication read  " From one  Fountainbridge legend to another".    I still have mine and it seemed an appropriate tribute for today.   

So I shall raise a glass of something (but not this - it is apparently now a collectors item)  to him tonight in thanks for all he did and for the pleasure of his company on so many occasions.   He is missed already but what an imprint he leaves behind on his country and on the world.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.