LD 221 A gift

On Tuesday I was  at the Scottish Poetry Library , recording my contribution to the on line launch of the Scottish Irish Intergovernmental Review which I hope will  take place later this year.   

During my chat with Asif Khan , the Director, he told me about a framed poem by Billy Wolfe, former SNP Leader and one of my political heroes,  that they had and after I had finished he not only showed me it but asked me to take it as a gift from the Library, to thank me for my support over the years .

I was very honoured for lots of reasons.   I was a friend of Tessa Ransford , the founder, and she was always very kind to me and a great source of advice.   I remain a great admirer of the Library , its purpose and of course its wonderful building and contents ,  I have happy memories of many events there including most memorably speaking at Edwin Morgan's 89th birthday as Scottish Culture Minister (as I was in 2009) and I think Asif has made a huge contribution both to the place and the wider cultural scene.

My extra photo shows the framed poem but my main image is of its back and Billy's distinctive writing given the provenance of the item.   In addition Billy's granddaughter, Heather, is a blilpper and works for me and I showed it to her (virtually) this morning.

It is also apposite for today my nomination for President of the SNP - a post Billy once held, - was published and will be voted on at our virtual conference at the end of the month.    It is a non executive and honorary  position but can and should provide someone willing to help every member and to support the party and its elected leaders as they move the country and the cause forward.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.