My Grandmother and Me

This picture of a moment between my grandmother and me hangs on the wall in the office. I have always loved it. 

 David and Evan came this morning to start replacing doors. Two closet doors in the house and a bonus of a new door for the pump house. The old one didn't have a proper handle and accidentally got stuck in the locked position. John had to destroy the door to get into the pump house and it is was one of those things that has remained on the 'to do' list ever since. That's why we love David. He sees a need and fixes it.

Speaking of procrastination, I decided that today was the day to get my Moderna Covid booster. Since it is raining again, I went straight to the Walgreens just down the road instead of Costco which has a friendly pharmacist named Ashley and where John just got his flu and Pfizer booster shotsi but is much farther away. I hate Walgreens which is staffed with unfriendly people, stocked with a weird assortment of junk food, cheap toys, a lot of 'beauty' products and patronized by people which Dana says all seem to be meth addicts. I waited my turn at the pharmacy counter behind several people,  produced my vaccination card when I finally reached the window and was told that they only had the Pfizer vaccine. If  I wanted the Moderna vaccine I would have to go all the way across town to the other Walgreens. 

I wound up at Costco anyway. I waited on the uncomfortable red bench for a surprisingly short time, got my shot from our buddy Ashley, and was on my way in less time than it took me to drive there. They were offering down comforters and pillows at a very reasonable really cheap price,  but although I had every other possible form of identification, I didn't have my Costco card. I'll probably go back later this week because our comforter and pillows are all in shocking condition  There were six foot high stacks of them so there is a chance they will still have them in a few days. 

Today is el Dia de los Muertos, the Day of the Dead. I was going to go downtown to look at the display of altars which is usually outside but the rain put me off...maybe it will still be there when I go back to Costco.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.