Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

More aliens in the garden

I blipped a Mantis two weeks ago but I am pretty sure that this is not the same one.  I found 4 nymphs today, two a paler pink which were more like the one I blipped two weeks ago, a quite dark wee one only about a centimetre or so in length and this green one which would be maybe 3.5 - 4 centimetres.

It takes a bit of searching to find them but I am so pleased that I have found 4 and hopefully they will survive and make it to adults.   Mind you I went looking for the dark one this afternoon and couldn't find it.   I am not sure what they are eating but there were about a dozen lynx spiders in the shrub (Teucrium) so there must be plenty of food around for them.

Thanks to Greg (Sheol) for hosting TT this month.

And in other news I had no money on the Melbourne Cup but really enjoyed watching the mare Verry Ellegant romp it home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.