More Limestone Waxcaps

I'd been planning to cook the Christmas cake in the morning, as well as do some cooking ready for our family Halloween meal in the evening, but an unexpected power cut caused a rapid change of plan. I decided to fit in a walk while the power was off, so headed out to Old Sulehay for a walk round the forest.

I knew it had been wet and blustery in the night, but seriously underestimated quite how strong the winds had been. A tree had been blown down on the Yarwell Road, luckily just passable with care, but this caused me to re-appraise the wisdom of walking in a wood, so I ended up back at Stonepit Close, where I found another tree blocking the road ahead.

It was lovely morning to walk round the quarry and it gave me a chance to take a few more photographs at my leisure, including these Limestone Waxcaps in a bed of Slender Ditrichum moss . I even managed to find the Earth-tongues that eluded us yesterday. I had a quick walk to the north end of the wood where I found that quite a few oaks had dropped large boughs. The wind was still quite lively so I didn't stay long, returning to the relative safety of the quarry.

The afternoon was filled with cooking and pumpkin carving - Pete made pumpkin soup while a produced a mixed game stew with caramelised apples, and a traditional pumpkin pie. Everyone arrived about six o'clock and we had a very chatty (verging on the rowdy at times) meal catching up with Chris and Lizzy's recent trip to Sardinia, and wedding plans. Only three weeks to go...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.