Have Camera Will Travel

By cathy1947

A good deed done

After our doggie walk this morning we headed into town to drop some clothes, books and bric-à-brac at St Catherine’s Hospice shop.

I thought that whilst we were out I could bag a blip so we headed to Oliver’s Mount, a large wooded hill rising to 500 feet above sea level where you get a breathtaking view of Scarborough. extra1. The other extras are a view across to the Mere and also the impressive trees, showing their autumn colours.

In 1840 Anne Brontë wrote about visiting Oliver’s Mount in her poem “The Bluebell”

“That day along a sunny road
All carelessly I strayed,
Between two banks where smiling flowers
Their varied hues displayed.
Before me rose a lofty hill,
Behind me lay the sea,…..”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.