If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lowther Dragon.

Another day and another visit to Lowther castle, for the same reasons as yesterday.  I have blipped the castle many times so I was looking for something different.  This sculpture hasn't been in place until these visits.  It stands in the courtyard outside the café among the trees.  I was fortunate in having a nice blue sky to act as aback ground.

Why a dragon?  It is the logo used for the Lowther Castle but why I have yet to be able to find out.  It was suggested on Clickychicks shot of the Dragon there was probably a Welsh connection.  Not that I can find.  It seems the ancestors of the family came over with William the conqueror in 1066 and have been around what was formerly Westmorland (now south Cumbria) ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.