Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Other people's art: Dia de Muertos

A double exposure of some textile art seen through a gallery window. This year, Dia de Muertos proved difficult for me. The very beautiful family ofrenda created by the ever-creative Cristina (Extra, her phone photo) now features a photo of Palesa. I am wandering around in a bit of a blur, not quite able to find my feet. I love this custom, and I appreciate Cristina's beautiful altars. I knew Palesa would be on it this year. It was still hard to take in.

Aimee has been successful in creating a paper copy of her book, now for sale on Amazon for $35. Self-publishing is difficult, and commercial publishing is a quagmire guarded by demonic gate-keepers, so there is no great solution, but I'm glad she persisted in struggling with the formatting. 

UPDATE: The art is by Jo Hamilton, a Scot! It's called "Salvaged Plastic Shine" and sells for $15,000 if you'd like to buy it. Here's her bio: "Jo Hamilton’s crocheted portraiture is a fascinating combination of traditional technique with contemporary subject matter. A native of Scotland, Hamilton earned a degree in painting and drawing from the Glasgow School of Art, but after moving to Portland, she translated her artistic vision into the medium of crochet, which she had first learned as a child from her grandmother. She has made large-scale cityscapes as well as larger than life portraits, ranging from friends, to commission subjects, to mugshots of people processed through the Multnomah County Jail." Some of you Blippers may actually know her. I'm glad I went back to discover the artist's name. It turns out I have blipped her work before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.