It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Bye Bye Blackbird

We had a big day planned. It didn't quite pan out as expected. We were going mountain biking, a sure sign that I would have a strop.

We left the village just after 8am and headed off to Buxton by train. The Peak District was looking rather snowy and I started to feel nervous. I had never ridden in snow before...never seemed like the best of idea's. It was freezing and there was quite a strong breeze blowing too.

I saw this blackbird, frozen to death, at the side of the road. He looked healthy, well as much as a mortified bird can....and I worried that my fate would be similar today. The first trail suggested it would be. Snow over a foot deep and drifting at the side. Rosemary managed to ride a bit of it though.

We reached the Monsal Trail that would lead us to Bakewell, home of the famous pudding. I really wasn't enjoying riding on the snow, unable to convince my brain that it wasn't slippery. It took way too long to get to Bakewell, but I was happy when we got to the cafe. We managed to get a seat next to a toast heater. I slipped off my stool at one stage, cracking my shin on a wooden beam.....agony.

After an ok lunch, we met Rosemary's friend Lucy and her friend Campbell and went to another cafe. Yummy....an amazing Bakewell pudding and a scone, shared with R. Good natter too with Lucy reminding me how happy I was at finishing my PhD. Her challenges seem very tough.

R and I then headed up a big hill, heading towards our next destination, Chatsworth house. I lost the will to live. There was snow on the road and I was scared, somewhat irrationally. Following my snail like pace, it was clear that we didn't have enough time to justify the entry fee to Chatsworth. I was cold and fed up, wanting to get on a train as soon as possible. Rosemary judged my mood well and agreed to do what I wanted. I was being a baby. I was struggling by Eyam, cold, tired and mentally a little down.

Castleton sorted that, Ye Olde Nags Head public house to be specific. I was frozen stiff but A wonderful pint of sixer from the Bradfield Brewery soon cheered me. Dark, sweet but relatively light, one of the best ale's I've ever had. We shared excellent nachos for starters, then i had macaroni cheese followed by an assiete of desserts. Nothing fancy but exceptionally good pub grub.

After layering up, we rode to Hope to catch a train home. I'm now totally exhausted but overall it was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.