If in doubt….

….check it out!

Sorry for the unpleasant photo, (and not to scare or worry anyone) but I thought it would be a good post to do my bit for cancer awareness.

November is ‘Mouth Cancer Awareness’ month, though as dental professionals, it’s something we are vigilant about everyday.
You may not even be aware that your dentist (& hygienist) always complete oral cancer screening as part of your check-up.

We are in prime position to see (and check for) anything dodgy looking in the mouth, but also around the head and neck.

This was on the top of someone’s head; I spied this as soon as I reclined the chair.
Although it may not be anything sinister, the fact it shouldn’t be there warranted a discussion about seeing a GP for a review.
I took the photo to document the main points of interest (just in case) and so I can monitor any changes between now and their next appointment with me in a couple of weeks time.

The classic signs to look for are the A, B, C, D’s:
Asymmetry - is it a regular shape?
Border - anything with an irregular border or rolled edge?
Colour - single colour or multiple colours?
Diameter - greater than 1/4”

Having any of these doesn’t automatically mean you have something sinister; I’ve a few areas of sun damage from bad habits years ago I refuse to call them age spots!!!! which are different colours but nothing at all to worry about.
Similarly, I’ve a couple of moles that have popped up over the years but they’ve remained unchanged.

As my title suggests, if there’s anything you’re not sure about, it’s always worth asking your GP to have a look ;-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.